Approaching Someone With an Eating Disorder

Disclaimer! When they look like Eugenia Cooney – just step in. If they are that far in, do something!

This all coming from my own experience, and what I didn’t like, didn’t want said nothing. Also what I needed and maybe still need to be done and said.

Things NOT to do

  • Don’t watch me eat
  • Don’t put food in front of me
  • Don’t fix my plate
  • Don’t touch me
  • Don’t approach the subject
  • Don’t tell me to go to therapy
  • Don’t tell me to go to the doctor

These are mostly self explanatory. I still don’t like it today. I hate people watching me eat and I have been trying to talk about it more. I am actually going to check into an eating disorder clinic at the end of the year to fully recover.

Things NOT to say

  • “Just eat like a normal person” – okay well just saying just eat is bullshit too and its like I would love to but I can’t help that I feel like I’m a huge ass whale.
  • “You’ve put on weight” – trust me I know. I know when I lose it and when I gain it. and when you point it out it makes me feel more fat even though you might think I looks good
  • “What have you eaten today?” – This is not so much an issue now but before it was cause I would have to lie, But then it’s not even a direct accusation. Just made me uncomfortable

A Recovering Survivor 

About Recovering Surviver

Hi, I am a Recovering Survivor and I'm not the only one...
This entry was posted in The More You Know and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Approaching Someone With an Eating Disorder

  1. I visited multiple blogs however the audio quality
    for audio songs present at this site is in fact fabulous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

