Introducing… A Recovering Survivor

Hello. This is Recovering From My Own Disaster, a blog about the mental health struggles of an abuse and rape survivor. I would recommend reading the About Me page just so you have a better idea of what this blog is about and a little bit about me.

What I want for this blog is to share my own experiences. I know there will be people out there wanted support and thinking they are alone and they’re not. Recovery is a journey and I’m on my own path going my own pace.

This Welcome Post is also an about me post as well because I want you to know who I am as a survivor. Now I will never be a victim despite what I have been through because of the ugliness which is that word. I am here today and I am getting towards a place where I will be free and can be free.

For this post’s About Me sort of thing I’m going to answer a series of Would You Rather Questions.

  1. Would you rather always be 10 minutes late or 20 minutes early?

Honestly, 20 minutes early… I mean 95% of the time I’m 20 minutes early anyway because that’s the nature of having OCPD like I don’t even like going to work 5 minutes before because it makes me uncomfortably anxious.

2. … lose all your money and valuables or all the pictures you have ever taken?

That’s actually hard. I think though that I would rather lose my money and valuables because I have been to Argentina and i have seen beautiful sunrises and storms and as a photographer I just couldn’t give up my photos.

3. … be famous while alive but forgotten in death or unknown while alive and famous after death?

Easy… unknown while alive and famous once dead. Just because I would love for people to know me and know my story and the pain but I want my privacy and I don’t want to have my face on magazines when I can see it or be stopped when I go out. I like my peace.

So that’s just a small little bit. I will write when I next can

A Recovering Survivor

About Recovering Surviver

Hi, I am a Recovering Survivor and I'm not the only one...
This entry was posted in Welcome and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Introducing… A Recovering Survivor

  1. Ashton says:

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and
    I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to
    give something back and aid others like you aided me.

    Like

  2. Chelsea says:

    Helpful information. Lucky me I found your site accidentally, and I am shocked why this accident didn’t came about in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

    Like

  3. Mazie says:

    My brother suggested I might like this website.

    He was totally right. This post truly made my day.
    You can not imagine just how much time I had spent
    for this information! Thanks!

    Like

  4. Cortez says:

    First off I would like to say great blog! I had a quick question that I’d
    like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing.

    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any
    recommendations or tips? Appreciate it!

    Like

    • Recovering Surviver says:

      OKay so whenever I write anything, I always start just writing what comes to my mind – even if it doesn’t make sense. I then come back a while after, sometimes this is 5 minutes sometimes it’ll be a day, but I come back and usually then I’ve processed it and can go through. I think when it comes to writing you just have to write. I know that seems a bit dumb but honestly, you have a message and you have a story. Your thoughts and actions are what develops it, and from there your heart will get it out. Everyone has a story worth listening to. Sometimes the best writing comes from emotion, and not necessarily a clear mind.

      If you ever think you’re way to stuck go to Pinterest and search “Writing Challenge” and usually they have topics and just select one and go from there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

